“What’s in it for you?” Channel Islands speaks (part 3 of 3)

Seven responses to, “What’s in it for you?”, or “What Wisdom Would you Like to Share About College?”

“I am the first person in my family to earn a degree, so I often feel completely lost at sea. All I can recommend is to make friends in your grade who can help guide you through the ins and outs of the small details (how to register for classes, where to go, where the food is, etc.). I don’t live on campus so I am often a victim of a strict routine, which is not bad, but I can recommend gaining spatial identity of your surroundings. I am in college to open doors for my future. Will I end up doing something in my major? Probably not. And that’s okay with me. I have come to terms with that, and perhaps you should too. College just provides you with a standard above the rest.”

-Candice

 

“What’s in it for me? At the moment, what is in it for me is bragging rights. Not in a negative way or to boast to others but to say “hey I did it, I survived,” and to be the first generation college graduate. But once that is over I am left with a degree that doesn’t really offer me a steady job. I chose my major out of passion, I am passionate about the Theatre and I am passionate about writing. I didn’t want to get stuck with a degree I wasn’t proud of or dread each day I had class, I wanted to enjoy my college years but at the cost of not having a steady job after graduation is a pretty big risk. I would rather do something I love than to waste away my days doing something I hate.”

-Anonymous

 

“I can’t keep up with everyone else. I do not fit in with the others. I don’t know if what I’m doing is right at all. A lot of students feel this way. Hell I feel this way 70 percent of the time. There is no right way to run your school life, but I don’t believe your way is wrong (unless you’re sacrificing a goat to heathen gods to bump up your grades, that’s a little questionable). Don’t let one tough class destroy you, at the end of the day, it’s just little grade among the list of all the interesting courses you’ve enjoyed and passed. Accept your flaws and learn to work around them or get past them. Always late? Can’t take decent notes? Everything you’ve tried not working? Okay. Then accept you are the type of person who does that, and prepare to do that again, because you are going to do that again. So find ways to work around it. You were late again, but you brought doughnuts, or have extra worksheets for people who forgot theirs, or did tons of research. All is not lost because of one or two quirks you can’t change. Good luck!”

-Alyssa

 

“I want to be secured with a good job, such as an elementary counselor because I love working with children and staying with youth throughout the years. I want to feel that I will be able to depend on my own and provide back to my family and whenever I will have my own family. It would be a rewarding career and successful path if I continue my education and have a stable life and take the experiences I had from college, taking them with me. I had to figure out where to go for help since I had no one to guide me being the first one in my family to go to college. At first it was challenging but throughout the months I learned how to guide myself and adapt to the new points in my life as a college student.”

-Laura

 

“I’m currently in my fourth year of college going onto my fifth at CSUCI. The direction I’m going in of becoming a California Highway Patrol officer doesn’t require a college degree but I’ll receive a better salary. Anyways, I’m the first one to attend a state university and soon to graduate out of my whole family and its been nothing but a struggle. I work to pay for my schooling and still live with my parents. Sometimes I really wished I would’ve moved far away and really experienced life on my own, but I’m sure that responsibility will come soon enough. But to tell you the truth, I hate college.. a lot. Its testing our ability to handle stress and stressors and how well we can cope with it and I’m not having fun. I always envisioned college being the best most exciting years of my life, but I’ve mostly just learned life lessons and gained knowledge; however, I am very grateful for my education nonetheless, just wish it was more fun.”

-Carissa

 

“I am a graduating senior and I haven’t chosen my post graduation path. As I glance back I have some regrets about my campus participation. I wish I was more involved in campus recreation, events and groups. Our campus is pretty small and I wish I took more advantage of the community programs. I feel I would have enjoyed my first years more, had I bonded with my classmates. I look back and think I should have put more effort into finding a graduate program I really loved. Now that I am graduating it is hard to decide where I want to go and in essence who I want to be. Being a psychology major, there are a sea of options, but they all require…more school. Its a big decision to commit to a graduate program and that task can be daunting. There is a mixture of excitement and fear for my future as a student and professional. I enjoyed my undergraduate experience and hope the lessons I learned here will help me in my years of graduate schools.”

-Anonymous

 

“I want to get something that will be happy doing out of this. I realize you only get one shot at life, so I take any oppourtunity I get to make it as for enjoyable as possible. This is also why I want to become a teacher. I come from a poor neighborhood, so I’ve seen many kids with no direction or money, and think its the end of the line for them once high school is done. I want to help them find something to be passionate about and develop talents and help them realize that there’s more out there for you.”

-Morgan

Leave a Reply

