“What’s in it for you?” Channel Islands speaks (part 2 of 3)

Eight responses to, “What’s in it for you?”, or “What Wisdom Would you Like to Share About College?”

“College is becoming increasingly important. Jobs are requiring college degrees and having that degree may be what separates you from the rest of the field. It teaches you responsibility and I believe college is an important step in becoming who you want to be. I’m attending college and earning my business degree in order to understand how businesses work and how to manage finances. I’m hoping that my college experience will separate me from others and that I can better learn aspects of life that I wouldn’t otherwise.”

-Anonymous

 

“I have wanted to get a degree for a long time, but the timing was always difficult. As a veteran, I planned on using the GI Bill to attend school. Unfortunately, I had other obligations as a parent of 3 kids and as military spouse, it was difficult to get though school and the GI Bill expired. I managed to pay for my general ed and after three military moves, I am currently in my junior year, and will be able to finish with all classroom courses next semester. Although, yet another military move, this one overseas, makes it difficult, if not impossible to finish. Why do I continue? It’s been my goal for a long time, I want to achieve that goal, so I keep moving forward.”

-Anonymous

 

“What’s in it for me? I believe, like the artist mentioned, we all come from different backgrounds that often times challenges us to go on a narrow path. The idea of coming to an amazing University gives us more in depth what our dreams and aspirations we want to achieve. I, too also come from a big, Mexican family of 7. Being the youngest of my family to attend college has also been a difficult part of my ongoing process because of the financial aspect that I couldn’t or my parents afford to pay my tuition. Coming to this campus shows a great positive place where we can pursue a career or an idea of what we want to achieve. The advice I can share is to really be up for a challenge, just how life itself is a challenge, Find yourself within all these obstacles.”

-Tatiana

 

“When I exit college, I want to possess greater knowledge and communication skills that allows me to succeed in the real world. I want to be able to find a career that I’m able to enjoy for the rest of my life. I also want to have a career where I can live on my own and be able to support a family.”

-Anonymous

 

“Your success as an undergrad will be at least partly a function of your willingness to reach out to other people, and of who you reach out to. Meet your professors. Get to know your program adviser. Form study groups. Seriously, form study groups. Even if you think you know the material, teach the material to your study group. You’ll know it way better afterward. If you’re shy, I understand. In many ways, I am too. You can’t let that stop you. Approach people and ask for help, or you will make things unnecessarily challenging.”

-Peter

 

“I am a 22 year old college student who is in college to establish a better future for myself. Never give up on your dreams despite the obstacles that come your way. I am a first generation college student and a single mom who will be graduating this spring. Anything is possible.”

-Mary

 

“What’s in it for you? I want a good job. I do not know what I want a job in, but I also want to coach softball. I want to complete college so I can say that I completed college. I want to get a college degree because I will be the first of my family. I want to make money so that I can help support my future family.”

-Tori

 

“Having to work two jobs constantly to make ends meet, I decided college would allow me to be able to escape the dead end jobs and have a better understanding of the world around me. I was tired of working for other people’s dreams and wanted to focus on my own dreams. I knew I wanted to become a part of the art world and college was a great start to figure out how to do this and what I want with my life journey.”

-Meghan

 

I give props to all of those that submitted their honest responses. Which message resonates the most with you? Stay tuned for Part 3 of this writing series where the submissions become more personal.

–Van

Leave a Reply

